Home Education OAU Pharmacy makes record, inductes 132 graduates

OAU Pharmacy makes record, inductes 132 graduates

By Ojomo Qudus

The induction ceremony of pharmacy graduates from the Premier School of Pharmacy, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife have come and gone, but memories of the event linger on. On May 10, 2018 at Oduduwa Hall, a new record was set; it is the first time 132 pharmacy graduates will be inducted into the profession since the commencement of the 5-year BPharm curriculum in 1992 at OAU.

The last time such a huge number was inducted was in 1981.

In his welcome address, the Dean of the Faculty, Professor Wilson O. Erhun who is also the immediate past Secretary General of the West African Postgraduate College of Pharmacists amongst other laurels made it known that his goal is to make Ife Pharmacy the “Best Pharmacy School in Africa”
Pharm. Prof. Cyril O. Usifoh, the guest speaker at the induction ceremony and a former Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Benin advised the new pharmacists to go into the world and make a difference. “Be a seven star pharmacist…….a lifelong learner,” he concluded.

Induction ceremonies are not complete until the presentation of professional oath. This was done by the registrar of the Pharmacist Council of Nigeria, Pharm. Nurudeen A. E. Mohammed who aside the traditional administration of the oath, enlightened the audience on the recent ban on codeine production by the Federal Government.

“We have issued warning on the production of drugs containing codeine about 2 years ago, but people don’t listen to professionals in our climes,” he added.

Omotunde Titilayo Roseline was the best graduating student with a Cumulative Grade Index of 4.68.

She won nothing less than 5 prizes including the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Board of Fellows’ Prize.

Other prize winners among the inductees are Haastrup Adeyeye, Oyeyinka Oluwatobi, Animashaun Islamiat, Ige Aduragbemi, Obidake Deborah and Soyinka T. Kafayat.

Prof. Eyitope Ogunbodede, Vice Chancellor of the institution, HRM Oba Pharm. Olatunde Falabi, the Akire of Ikire land, Pharm (Prof.) Noel N. Wannang, Secretary General of the West African Postgraduate College of Pharmacists, Pharm. Ahmed I. Yakasai, President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (ably represented) were among the dignitaries that graced the occasion.

The newly inducted pharmacist will be proceeding to a one-year compulsory internship training, however the ongoing strike action orchestrated by the Joint Health Sector Union (JOHESU) posed a challenge to most of the inductees in securing internship placement for the mean time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here